JustDelete.Me: Are You Tired of Your Social Media Profile?

JustDelete.Me: Are You Tired of Your Social Media Profile?

If you are like me, chances are you’ve been using Internet for quite some time. During that period, you probably created profiles on various services and social networks. Since Facebook and Twitter emerged as the two leading social networks, you probably don’t use other ones such as Friendster or MySpace. However, you might still have your profile there, so what happens if you want to delete it?

In it happens this might be more difficult that you can imagine. Remembering that high school email and password is the easy part of the process. Finding settings is the hard part. Many of these networks and services have changed their design over the time so nothing is quite where you left it. Deleting a simple MySpace profile could be hard if you don’t know where to look. Thankfully, there is a service that can help you with that.

Delete it with JustDelete.Me!

JustDelete.Me is basically a directory of links that lead you to the right setting for deleting your profile. From Airbnb to Craigslist, this service stores about a hundred directs links for most of the popular social networks and services. Created by Robb Lewis, the main goal of this service is to help users who have troubles with deleting their profiles due to a Dark Pattern process that companies use to manipulate them.

Therefore, JustDelete.Me simply directs you to the right link and makes deleting the profile seem almost effortless. The service also shows just how easy is to delete a certain profile – if the name is green the process is straightforward. If it’s orange the process could be a bit more complicated and it probably requires smarthphone with the specific app in order to delete the profile (for example Path).

If the name is red this means that the process is rather complicated and it usually required contacting customer support. If, however, the name is black, there is no way to delete a profile from that service. This is something you should be aware of because some services just don’t offer the possibility of deleting your profile. Luckily, there aren’t a lot of services that do this.

You can also add your own links to the GitHub directory and you can use a custom Chrome Extension to help you with deleting the profile. A little dot will appear in your Chrome toolbar and depending on its color, you will know whether or not it’s possible to delete the profile from the current web page.

After you’ve read this, it’s probably a good time to visit your old profiles and delete them if you don’t find them useful anymore! Make room for new services. 🙂

Author:

Marko Mudrinić

Marko is an undergraduate student based in Belgrade. Majoring in Journalism he's interested in digital publishing, startups and new technology. He currently writes for Balkan's leading Internet magazine Netokracija about local startups scene.

Terms and Conditions

Copyright © Domain.me, 2008-2019

doMEn d.o.o. will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us: Email, Direct Mail, Customized online advertising. You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at newsletter@domain.me. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit our website. By clicking "subscribe", you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.
We use MailChimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to MailChimp for processing. Learn more about MailChimp’s privacy practices here.